Walking Away

So I decide to take a walk down the street.
A broken foot. Hoping the onlookers don’t mind.
Not sure why I look like I have lots of money.
I don’t need a date from a stranger. Please?
Let me pass.

I know the world hurts. The world burns sometimes.
Let me scare you. Let me hurt you.
No. Will you be my friend instead? Please?
I don’t need anymore hurt from a stranger.
Let me pass.

I keep smiling and walking. Forward.
My foot screaming at me. I stand tall.
You take my picture on a phone. Funny. A limping fool.
I don’t need any staring. Right back you! Feel my eyes too?
Let me pass.

Make it back to my squared darkness. Alone again.
I think. I stress. I scare myself. I am lonely.
Please visit. I don’t know what else to do. Breathe.
I need that childhood sweater that no longer fits me.
Let me pass.

If only for one more time.

2 thoughts on “Walking Away”

Leave a Reply

